Senior Men's Golf Chairman's Blog - 2nd November 2023

Last week the seniors held the monthly Grail Competition followed by our Annual General Meeting. We were able to play the course in surprisingly good conditions bearing in mind the volume of rain which had fallen in the previous week. When the forecast predicted wet conditions, a few Members withdrew but, in the event, even buggies were allowed on the course.

The Grail yielded a clear winner in Stephen Jones with a magnificent total of 41 Stableford points. Following on behind were some familiar names:

2nd	Andrew Linford	38 points (countback)
3rd	Raj Vara	38 points (countback)
4th	David Moss	38 points (countback)
5th	Peter Sabine	38 points (countback)

Unfortunately, Stephen was not able to stay on to receive the Grail trophy but congratulations go to all prizewinners.

After a quick lunch where golfers were able to pre-order food to avoid large queues, we were able to start our AGM at 2pm. The first business was the election of our Chairman and I was gratified to be re-elected unopposed.

Our committee was also re-elected with Clive Nicholson (Treasurer), John Cardwell (Fixtures secretary), Geoff Bradford, Don Mackenzie, Stephen Jones, Nigel Karmel and Peter Sabine also having their terms renewed. Nigel and Peter share the direction of our over eighties team which again has had a busy year. To enable Nigel and Peter to concentrate on the over eighties, Nicholas Brown, a regular Wednesday attender, was also elected to join the Committee.

We then proceeded to present the prizes for 2023.

Those winning trophies were:

Colum Sharkey Cup	Winner	Jim Kumar
	Runner up	Stephen Jones
Winter Foursomes	Winners	Michael Godfrey and
		Anders Grundberg
	Runners up	Geoff Bradford and John
		Gilbert
Senior Scratch	Winner	Andrew Walker
	Runner up	Greg Waunford-Brown

Ockleshaw Cup	Winner	Roy Martin
	Runner up	Clive Nicholson
	Semi-finalists	Andrew Hine and Michael
		Murray
Ockleshaw Plate	Winner	Peter Bateman
	Runner up	Murray Feely
Super Seniors	Winner	Peter Sabine
	Runner up	Ralph Evers
Seriously Seniors	Winner	Peter Sabine
	Runner up	Michael Godfrey
Spring Medal	Winner	Peter Bateman
	Runner up	Mel Davies
	Gross winner	Roy Martin
Autumn Medal	Winner	Quentin Robey
	Runner up	David Moss
	Gross winner	Nigel Candelot
Annual Medal	Winner	John Wyn-Evans
	Runner up	Suresh Vara
	Gross winner	Roy Martin
Summer Eclectic: The	Winner	Ken Pratt
Hamid Lari Trophy		
	Runners up	Hassan Dajani, David Bouch
		and Gilbert Ellacombe
	Best gross score	Roy Martin
Senior Winter Eclectic	Winner	David Bouch
	Runners up	Ian Taylor-Restell, Gilbert
		Ellacombe and Ev Schenk
Order of Merit	Winner	Simon Lucas







Michael Godfrey

Peter Bateman

Peter Sabine







Ken Pratt

That amounts to 30 seniors winning or being placed in our main annual competitions. Added to this, another four seniors were among the twelve Grail winners in the 2022-23 season. Coupled with the consistently large entry for the grail and a positive record in our matches against other clubs, the seniors are in a healthy state even if some of us are suffering physically!

Four of the main prizes will be presented at the Annual Men's Golf Dinner later this month. There are still places available and we will try to accommodate all seniors on the two seniors' tables.

The AGM also gave the opportunity for Members to discuss the general arrangements for golf and I undertook to take up some points made at the Golf Committee.

Yesterday we played a team Stableford competition despite the wet weather.

Congratulations to Nigel Brown, John Randel, Malcolm Turner and Mohamed El Guindi who won with an adjusted 77 Points! (83-6 due to having 4 players).

Douglas Millar, Senior Men's Golf Chairman